## The College of Fine Arts

Awards Ceremony

Wednesday, May 1st, 2024 at 7 p.m.
UTRGV Performing Arts Complex
1201 West University Drive, Edinburg, TX 78504



# The UTRGV College of Fine Arts Awards Ceremony Welcome – Jeffrey Ward, Dean, College of Fine Arts

Announcement of Student Scholarships – Krista Jobson, Associate Dean for Student Success, College of Fine Arts

Global Citizen Scholarship and Dr. Donald E. Fritz Study Abroad Memorial Scholarship

Caravaggio's Optics & Introduction to Art Restoration in Italy Study Abroad (Elena Macias, Faculty Sponsor)

Angel Castillo Mia Ramos Allison Mejia-Barajas Bohdana Riabova

Communicational Korean Study Abroad (Mijin Oh-Villareal, Faculty Sponsor)

Sandra Lopez

Digital Cultural Narratives in the United Kingdom Study Abroad (Ping Xu and Robert Gilbert, Faculty Sponsor)

Allison Davison Erielle Gonzalez

Cultural Studies in Ireland Study Abroad (Brian Warren, Faculty Sponsor)

Karla Guerrero Jack Robertson Melanie Reyes Jadienne Vazquez

Eutopia Art Residency, Kavala, Greece (Lilia Cabrera, Faculty Sponsor)

Regina Matamoros

## **Student Research Travel Scholarship**

## UTRGV Tuba/Euphonium Ensemble Residency, Washington, DC (Scott Roeder, Faculty Sponsor)

Jorge Ayala	Samuel DeLeon	Azdruball Montemayor
Gerardo Cano	Alejandro Garza	Gilbert Moya
Jose Castillo	Raphael Gonzalez	Steven Vallejo
Itzhak Corona	Albert Gutierrez	Jaime Zamarripa
Victor Cruz	Noah Jaramillo	

### 2024 Electric LaTex Festival Baton Rouge, Louisiana (Anthony Marasco)

Thomas Flores Jazmin Juarez
Nicholas Gomez Javier Munoz

## National Council on Education for the Ceramic Arts, Cincinnati, OH (Brandi Lee Cooper, Faculty Sponsor)

Alvaro Abrego	Mikaela Martinez	Jacob Reyna
Sandrine Agbeko	Dominique Palomo	Clarrissa Sifuentes
Cinthya Delgado	Samantha Proa	Angela Wills
Jacob Martinez	Andres Rangel	

Association of Writers & Writing Programs (AWP)
Annual Conference, Kansas City, MO (Emmy Perez, Faculty Sponsor)

Jo Reyes-Boitel

## North American Saxophone Alliance Conference, Hattiesburg, MS (Cynthia Cripps, Faculty Sponsor)

Arnulfo Amaya	Jonathan Guzman	Rolando Roman
Matthew Ayala	Lizette Hernandez	Abraham Saldana
Leobardo Canpa	Liam Lozano	Roman Valenciano
Kristian Corona	Roque Martinez	Juan Zamarripa
Sherlyn Farias	Anthony Monrreal	

CBDNA Intercollegiate Honor Band, Kansas City, Missouri (Allison Davis and Ronnie Rios, Faculty Sponsor)

Emily Castillo Stephanie Hernandez Ashley Perez Luis Viveros Roman Valenciano

Music by Woman Conference, Columbus, MI (Justin Writer, Faculty Sponsor)

Noemi Sosa

### **Excellence Awards**

Excellence Awards – Mark Ramirez, Associate Dean for Research and Outreach, College of Fine Arts

## Excellence in Teaching Award: Romeo Di Loreto, Assistant Professor, School of Art and Design

#### **Nominees**

Brenton Hamilton, Lecturer II, School of Art and Design Rachel Mann, Associate Professor, School of Music Monica Martinez, Assistant Professor, School of Music Ferenc Moldovanyi, Associate Professor, Department of Theatre

## Excellence in Research/Scholarship/Creative Work Award: Andrés Amado, Associate Professor, School of Music

#### **Nominees**

David Carren, Professor, Department of Theatre Virginia Davis, Professor, School of Music Rachel Mann, Associate Professor, School of Music DM Witman, Assistant Professor, School of Art and Design

## **Emerging Scholar Award:**

Gina Palacios, Assistant Professor, School of Art and Design DM Witman, Assistant Professor, School of Art and Design

Excellence Awards – Dahlia Guerra, Special Assistant to the Dean for Outreach and Partnerships

## Excellence in Community Engaged Scholarship: Brandi Lee Cooper, Assistant Professor, School of Art and Design

#### Nominee

Scott Roeder, Professor, School of Music

Staff Excellence Award, Jessica Lorena Treviño,
Administrative Coordinator,
College of Fine Arts Dean's Office

### **Alumnus Awards**

Young Alumnus Award: Cristina Correa, MFA '18 Katherine McAllen, Associate Professor, School of Art and Design

Alumnus Merit Award: Baltazar Diaz, BM '17
Krista Jobson, Associate Professor, School of Music

Dean's Partner Award – Jeffrey Ward, Dean, College of Fine Arts
International Museum of Art and Science

Closing - Jeffrey Ward, Dean, College of Fine Arts

## Staff

The students and faculty of the College of Fine Arts are strongly supported by a dedicated group of staff.

#### **Dean's Office**

Mirna Villarreal Neissy Rosas Jessica Trevino Sylvia Alafa

### School of Art and Design

Veronica Chavarria Lisa Mendiola Price Julietta Rivera

### **Creative Writing Department**

Anita Reyes

## **Dance Department**

Zeydy Garza

## **Theatre Department**

Anita Reyes Alexandra Gonzalez Eric Sanchez Alfredo Garza Carla Simon

#### **School of Music**

Norma Salinas Brenda Vela Roman Joseph Diaz Luis Pena Juan Munoz Veronica Gomez



### **Never Miss an Event!**

Follow us: https://www.utrgv.edu/arts

LIKE. FOLLOW. SUBSCRIBE. ADD









Brownsville Office

TSC Performing Arts Center 90 Taylor Avenue Brownsville, Texas 78520 (956) 882-7025

**Edinburg Office** 

UTRGV Performing Arts Complex 1201 West University Drive Edinburg, Texas 78539 (956) 665-3881

Thank

You!



UTRio Grande Valley